Those shifty eyes have ruined your fashion, lady-Part 1 (その卑しい目つきでお洒落が台無しですよ、ご婦人(第一回)

The woman stealthy walked up before me when my turn at the checkout counter finally came after waiting 10 customers were being served.  This is Maison de Gallerie Lafayette in on Haussmann where the well to do French would do their groceries.  I only go there for my occasional treats, but there is always a long queue that many time I have just given up buying.  Of course, I could have cheated like this woman who has just jumped the queue whilst trying to look dignified in vain, but that is not my upbringing. 

The sad fact for her is that I would have recognized her as a fake Parisianne before her sly act.  How?  Because of those shifty eyes that had become a habit without her knowing it.  I had seen them before on several occasions.  One stood out in my memory because I ended up having this young brunette in my sight for hours while waiting for the Olympic torch lighting ceremony at Olympia, Greece in 2012.  I stayed in Olympia for 3 nights to watch the ceremony and the dress rehearsal.  The latter allows the audience to be near the performers as close as 10 meters, provided you got there early.  I did, but this young brunette with glasses came late and opted to sit in front of the rope, in front of all of us who had been waiting.  Every time an officer came by she would scuttle away only to return a minute later in her illegal spot.  She was looking around shiftily here and there.  But what disgusted me most was when a group of children was led in by the officer to sit in front of us (which was all right considering their small size we could still see the torch-lighting), she pretended to be their chaperon and sat next to them.  She would flash her fake smile at the children to keep up her charade.  The children did not respond well as if they had sensed that they were being used.

I wanted to forget those shifty sly blue eyes because I hate choking on vulgarity but unfortunately you encounter them quite often in life.  The most recent one, the woman in Maison Galerie Lafayette.  In hindsight she was quite fashionable, but her shifty eyes ruined it all.  And…there was another thing she did right before she jumped the queue.  By that she told herself that her act was justifiable.  You be the judge in my next post. 

Summer is easing out in Paris.  Speaking of Greeks, my last summer attire is marked with prints used by both ancient Greeks and Egypt.  I chose to go with Egypt motif and chose this River Nile Green scarf.  The shop assistant at Diwali showed me that scarf could be worn as a cape. blog fashion
By luck I found the baretta of the matching colour at Alexandre de Paris.  green alexandreThe fringe is still the mode of 2015 in Paris, so I decided to wear for the first time the pair of shoes that come with silver fringe my mother had bought for me at Istanbul in 2012.  In theory the ethnic touch should go well with the dress, but I am not sure.
 

その人はそそくさと私の前に割り込んだ。ここはガレリア・ラファイエットのメゾン、巴里の裕福層が食料を買いにくる所です。滅多に私は買いませんがたまに来ても長蛇の列がありゲンナリ。無論この割り込んだ中年女性の真似すれば良いのでしょうが、私には日本人としてまともな躾を受けて育ちました。 

似非パリジャンヌは怒ったように尊厳を保とうとしていたが長年積もったズルは「卑しさ」として彼女の目元にこびりついていました。こういう目つきは日本を離れると結構見かけますが最も印象に残るのは2012年、ギリシャで母を孝行旅行に連れていった時遭遇した女性でした。ロンドンオリンピックの聖火点灯儀式を見るためにオリンピアの古代劇場で朝から私達は頑張って場所を確保していましたが、間際になり一人の女性が我々の前に陣取ったのです。紐で隔離してある前に座り込むのですから大した玉です。この日は本番前のドレス・リハーサル式でしたから母と「まあ、いいか」と諦めぎみでしたが警察官が監視に来て安堵。ところが警察官が去ると例の青い瞳の女性はこそこそと戻ってくるのです。その間キョロキョロと当たりを見渡す目つきの卑しかったこと!離れては戻りを繰り返すうちに幼稚園児の団体が引率されて私達の前に座りました。小柄な子供の後ろですから私達は十分点灯式をマジかに見れましたが、例の女性は子供の付き添いのふりをして子供たちの隣にすべき込、作り笑顔で子供たちに話しかけていたのです。子供は敏感に利用されている事を感じ取り誰一人返事しませんでしたが。 

私は不愉快な思い出は早々に忘れる性質なのですが、あの卑しい瞳はその後も頻繁に遭遇することに。最近の例がガレリア・ラファイエットのメゾンの女性でした。今思うとパリジャンヌらしくお洒落でしたが卑しい目つきがブチ壊していました。そして…彼女が列に割り込む前にとった行動を私は見逃していませんでした。続きは次回に回して服装について少し触れます。 

巴里の夏も終わりギリシャの話がでたついでに私の最後の夏服は古代にギリシャとエジプトに共通する柄で締めくくることに。ナイル川の青緑を選択。いつものDiwali Parisのアシスタントがケープのようにスカーフを腕に巻き付ける方法を提案してくれました。偶然にも同じ色のバレッタがアレクサンドル・ド・パリで見つかり、靴は今年流行りのフリンジがついたものなら良いですかね?偶然これも母がイスタンブールで購入したものです。日本からギリシャとトルコを別々に行くと高くつきますから同じ年に母を両方案内したのです。fringe

 

Leave a Reply

