Born without Good

I must first thank Ms.G. E. Gallas for nominating me for the Beautiful Blogger Award.  Let my comic strip speak of my appreciation.

Beautiful award

The award comes with a rule that the nominee must tell 7 facts about him/herself:

1)    I believe we are born without Good.  It is what we may acquire after years of struggles, self-doubt and self-reflection.

2)    I believe that sadly we are born with vice.  You can count on people’s jealousy to sprout any time.  No one wants to admit it first, so we lie to ourselves to deny it.  See?  Evil within us is already setting us up for the next evil deed: telling lies to others.  The ball rolls on.

3)    I believe Good exists only within God, which is comforting.  Good would be safe from our human vice.

4)    I don’t feel pessimistic that we are born without Good.  It  adds more values to our struggles to shed our vice.  There shouldn’t be a  prize given to being a nice person if one had simply been programmed that way.  It would be more meaningful if it were one’s conscious choice to be good.  For an instance, I don’t feel smug about being a non-smoker because I have never felt an urge for it.  However, I do respect former smokers who fought off their addictive demon through sheer will power.   I can’t even hold off my chocolate for 3 hours.

5)    I believe Bad can become Good once their hatred turns to love.

6)    I believe there is a third group that has been hiding behind the reasons (something akin to Good) while abetting Bad.  If you read the home page you will find that I name this third player ‘The Third Red Apple’ .

7)    I believe The Third Red Apple sabotages our efforts to grow out of Bad.

Another rule of the award is that I must make 7 new nominations:

1)    http://charlottecarrendar.com/  (scary but artistic graphics)

2)    http://yogazazen.wordpress.com/ (Her mystic photos and text are profound)

3)    http://bucketlistpublications.org/ (She created one because she wanted to live.  I find that so uplifting and beautiful)

4)   To be announced

5)    http://vienaqui.com/  (her art and photography categories are worth checking out)

6)    To be announced

7)    To be announced.

Copyright 2013 by Mirror Miroir/THE THIRD RED APPLE All Rights Reserved.

5 thoughts on “Born without Good

  1. Thanks for nominating me. Sorry I didn’t respond sooner, I haven’t been on here in a few days so I didn’t see it. Thanks though.

  2. I’m very interested in your philosophy. Some mystical things have happened to me in Ireland, believe me! However, I am an atheist, and I think that the fears, ghosts, spirits and so on that I meet, the magic that occurs around me, is all the phantasms of the mind. This is the fundamental basis of my attraction to Zen. I am not a Zen buddhist – it is not my culture (my culture is Scottish Protestant, but just because I have questioned and crtitiqued that does not mean I have to fill the vacuum. Actually, leaving it empty and watching as it attempts to suck things into itself is painful, but very creative, and interesting, and ultimately enriching, since it reveals what is at the heart of all things: emptiness!) I agree with you, too, in that I believe we are born without good. However, I think that if we say that we are born without good, we have also to admit that we are born without evil (I have had two children – they were born demanding to be loved and I happily acquiesced, but there was nothing evil about them. Nothing intrinsically good, either. They just were. Beautiful, noisy, taking in and letting out as any other animal. Only of course they were my babies, and I loved them desperately, because I was a mother and had no reason in the way of my love, no trauma (or only minor ones) to cause it to warp. It was not always easy. But it was always there.

    I don’t think we need burden ourselves with either good or evil, actually. Human cultures impose various versions but beneath it all, we do what we can to survive. Mostly, we do this thinking we are separate beings, bounded within our skins, forgetting that every breath, every bite of food, every sip of tea, every tear drop, excretion, purging, is an exchange between us and the world. Wendell Berry says, we pass through the world and the world passes through us. So even though we think we are bounded within the skinbag, we are in fact in a dramatically dynamic dance with the world, in a shifting relationship that grows here, ebbs there, and is never still, even at death, when the relationship changes utterly because there is no longer a point of view.

    Must go and do some work. Carry on the discussion! It’s a good one! (I’m joking – it’s a beautiful one, and that’s what matters! Beautiful, interesting, thoughtful. Excellent). Do you have any autobiographical stuff on your site? I’m talking about where you come from, where you live, what sort of living arrangement (family, partner, alone) you have, and so on. I think it always helps if you give a context. However there might be good reasons why you don’t want to and that is fine too. Your irises are lovely. Irises are the most prevalent flower here in the spring, more than daffodils. And they are also the royal emblem, the emblem of the gamanrad, the fleur de lys.

    • Children are all pure, no evil. I got my idea of men born without Good when I realized that I had not come across any paintings that featured Adam and Eve as children. I have lived in Europe and visited a lot and lot of churches and museums; I swear I must have seen a million religious paintings but Adam and Eve were always depicted as adults. It would make sense to me if men had started reproducing after the expulsion from Eden. I have come up with a theory how children are born pure, but I refrain from sharing it with you because it would involve my graphic novel. I do not intend to hard sell my works to my blog readers.

      Thank you for your interest in me and I hope to share my identity with my bloggers someday, but now is not the time. I was very pleased when you said you were interested in my philosophy. That is what I want people to know about me…before they find out my nationality. Nationality is strongly linked to prejudice.

      I screamed when I learnt that Iris was the royal emblem of the Gamanrad, your people! I wish I could tell you why, but I stick to my policy of not hard selling my work.

  3. Pingback: Born without Good | yogazazen

Leave a Reply

